Winchester's Military MuseumsWinchester
Peninsula Barracks
Romsey Road
Hampshire SO23 8TS
 
 
Winchester’s long history as a garrison town is marvellously recalled in several military museums located near the centre of the city.
 
Winchester’s Military Museums is a grouping of six regimental museums situated within yards of each other on an historic site, adjacent to the Great Hall.
 
The six museums are:
 
- The Regimental Museum of The King’s Royal Hussars (HorsePower Museum)    External Link
 
- The Royal Hampshire Regiment Museum    External Link
 
- The Royal Green Jackets (Rifles) Museum    External Link
 
- The Rifles Collection    External Link
 
- The Gurkha Museum    External Link
 
- The Guardroom Museum, the Museum of the Adjutant-General’s Corps    External Link
 
Each museum offers a unique experience and has its own story to tell. There are fantastic collections of medals, paintings and military objects on displayed across the whole site.
 
Plan Your Visit
Accommodation - Search & Book through Hotels.com here:    External Link
 
Admission Cost
Three of the museums – HorsePower, The Royal Green Jackets and Gurkha museums charge for admission. The other three are free entry.
 
Opening Times
These vary with each museum. For details click on each individual museum’s web link.
 
Disabled Access
Yes.
 
Facilities
Visitor’s Centre
The Little Kitchen Café 
 
The Peninsula Barracks Site
The Peninsula Barracks were built in the early 20th century on the site of a former royal palace. Their elegant design is a tribute to the original palace designer, Sir Christopher Wren.
 
In 1683 Wren built the King’s House for King Charles II of England. Charles intended it to replace Winchester Castle and it was modeled after the Palace of Versailles, though on a somewhat smaller scale. It was to have sweeping views, walks and gardens descending to the cathedral. Although structurally completed, money ran out and the project was eventually abandoned. The building was gutted by fire in 1894 and demolished.
 
The site was acquired by the government to build a barracks. Columns and parts of the decorative masonry were reused in the Peninsula Barracks buildings which replaced the King’s House in 1900, and which now include Winchester's Military Museums.
 
Some parts of the barracks remain Grade II listed buildings in their own right including the Green Jackets Headquarters and Museum, the Gymnasium, the Main Entrance Gate Piers, the Gates and Flanking Railings and Piers, the Royal Hussars Museum (former Militia Stores), the East Block, the Guardroom, the Chapel and Schoolroom, the Mons Block, the North Block, the Weapons Training Shed and the West Block.
 
In 1994 the Ministry of Defence sold most of the barracks for private flats, retaining some space for the museums.
 
The Royal Hampshire Regiment Museum is located in Serle's House designed by Thomas Archer and built in 1730. Note the Baroque heavier look of the design in comparison to Wren’s elegant geometric lightness.
 
Accommodation - Search & Book through Agoda here:     External Link
 
Contact & Further Information
Telephone  +44 1962 877826
Website   Winchester Military Museums    External Link
 
Google Maps - Peninsula Barracks