Guild Chapel, StratfordStratford upon Avon
Cnr Church St & Chapel Lane
Warwickshire CV37 6EP.

 

 

The Guild Chapel is one of Stratford’s best known medieval buildings. It looks more like a church than a chapel.
 
The Guild of the Holy Cross was founded in 1269 and Sir Hugh Clopton rebuilt the Chapel at the end of the 15th century. In 1549 King Henry VIII dissolved the Guild and its estates, including the Chapel, and gave them to the town of Stratford.
 
Stunning Frescoes
At this time, the stunning frescoes on the inside of the Chapel were over-painted. They were re-discovered some three hundred years later during restoration. The fresco above the chancel arch represents The Day of Judgment and is one of the largest of its type in the country. There is also some good stained glass.

The Chapel tower contains two bells, a large ‘curfew’ bell and a smaller ‘service’ bell. These bells are now rung electrically. The large ‘curfew’ bell is sounded each night at eight o’clock.

Services are held every Wednesday morning and on the first Saturday of the month.
 
Shakespeare's King Edward VI Grammar School
The Guild  Chapel is the chapel of the adjacent King Edward VI Grammar School (Shakespeare’s old school). The complex of buildings includes the half-timbered schoolroom where Shakespeare sat and studied. Sometimes the schoolroom is open to the public.
 
An excellent website to visit is  Web: King Edward VI School Website link
 
Plan Your Visit 
Accommodation - Search & Book through Hotels.com here:
 
Opening Hours
The Guild Chapel is owned by Stratford-upon-Avon Town Trust and is generally freely open to the public throughout the year. Well worth a visit.
 
Disabled Access
Limited
 
Contact & Further Information
Telephone  +44 (0)1789 404 111
 
Google Map - Guild Chapel, Stratford