Eardisland DovecoteHereford
Eardisland
Herefordshire HR6 9BW
 
 
 
Make your first stop after parking in the Visitors Car Park in the centre of the village, this distinctive 17th century Dovecote. Located beside the stone bridge over the River Arrow the dovecote doubles as the Village Shop and Heritage Centre.
 
Displayed in the Dovecote is an exhibition about England's motoring heritage which is open daily all year, free of charge, with disabled access to the ground floor.
 
The building has been restored and the shop stocks local produce. It is a unique opportunity to go inside one of these ancient domestic buildings of which there are quite a few in Herefordshire. The visitor can climb the wooden ladder to the upper storey pigeon loft where there are 850 recessed pigeon roosts.
 
The use of rock doves (pigeons) for fresh meat and eggs was brought to Britain by the Romans. During the Middle Ages "squabs" - young birds about 4 to 5 weeks old were boned, stuffed and roasted and used for summer food.
 
The Dovecote’s origins are probably late 17th or early 18th century, although the earliest reference to a dovecote in the village is 1469. The present building was formerly part of the Manor House estate.
 
Google Maps - Eardisland Village Shop & Heritage Centre