Lower Brockhampton ManorHereford
National Trust
Brockhampton Estate
Near Bromyard
Herefordshire WR6 5TB
If somebody describes a property as “an old English moated manor house” what sort of an image pops into your head. Would it be a picturesque, black and white half-timbered house in a pretty garden surrounded by a shallow moat? Lower Brockhampton completely fills the bill.
To make things even better, access to the house across the moat is via a recently restored Tudor gatehouse.
Set in glorious Herefordshire countryside, the Brockhampton Estate is a farmed estate owned by the National Trust. The jewel in the Estate’s crown is the cluster of buildings at Lower Brockhampton consisting of a ruined Norman chapel, farm buildings and a moated manor house.
The name ‘Brockhampton’ means the ‘farm of the people who live by the brook'. Visitors to the house will hear about those people and how subsequent owners changed the house.
The Estate is nearly 1,700-acre (688 hectares) in extent, and there are 6.5 miles of woodland walks open to the public. Included is a sculpture trail with various sculptures depicting parts of the history of Brockhampton and the local area.
Lower Brockhampton is one of the best Herefordshire examples of an ancient estate demonstrating continuity from the Middle Ages through the Tudor period and culminating in a Georgian mansion of the 18th century.
Norman Chapel
The oldest building at Lower Brockhampton is the Norman chapel. Now in ruins, the chapel dates back to around 1180.
Manor House
The two-storey medieval house was built around 1380 by the Domulton family, and is a cruck-frame timber house, constructed with oak from the estate woodlands. It was built to a typical H-shaped plan with 2 cross wings; the west wing was later demolished. A north-west wing was added in the late 16th century, and the east cross wing was extended in the 17th century. Around the same time a porch was added to the hall.
The term ‘cruck’ means ‘curved’ and a cruck frame is a curved timber, one of a pair which supports the roof of a building. The curved timber members are generally naturally formed.
The timber-framed house has an impressive base-crucked hall, and much of the exposed timber work is decorated indicating an expensive building technique. Wood was very expensive and another indication of a wealthy owner is the closeness of the timber frames.
J.W. Tonkin, an authority on timber-framed houses, has demonstrated that all the surviving base-cruck halls in Herefordshire belonged to the upper gentry. In the absence of detailed written sources, this would confirm the higher status and wealth of the Domulton family of Lower Brockhampton.
For pictures of the manor house’s rooms, Go to  Web:  National Trust/ Discover the Gatehouse  
Gatehouse & Moat
The charming timber-framed gatehouse was built around 1543. Entry to the manor house is through this exquisite little building across the moat.
According to Dr. Keith Ray (Herefordshire Council's County Archaeologist), this moat was built in several stages, the last phase being for ornamental purposes. In earlier, more troubled days, a moat could safeguard livestock from theft or help to repel attackers.
The Barneby Family
In the 1500s, the house was acquired by the Barneby family and stayed with them for the next 400 years. When the last male Barneby died in 1726, the estate went to his nephew, Bartholomew Richard Lutley, who later changed his name to Barneby around 1756.
It is thanks to Bartholomew Richard Barneby that Brockhampton House exists. He had it built as his new home to enjoy the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside.
Modern Times
The manor house then became home to successive farming families who worked on the estate until the Trust acquired the house and estate in 1946.
The manor house is a protected bat roost and home to three species of bat including the pipistrelle, brown long-eared and the rare lesser horseshoe bat.
Opening Times
- Summer
Open 7 days a week.
- Winter
Reduced hours, weekends only.
Check times on this link to avoid disappointment  Web:   National Trust/ Brockhampton Estate/ Opening Times
Admission Prices
Two types of tickets can be purchased - one giving access to the whole property, and the other access only to the estate woodland/parkland walks and paths. Web:  National Trust/ Brockhampton Estate Admission Prices
Disabled Access
Partly accessible grounds, steep slopes, grass paths, undulating terrain. Map of accessible route. Parkland can have uneven, muddy surfaces Disabled Toilet available at manor house complex, and in estate car park. Mobility parking, 20 yards away, and drop-off point Braille guides & Sensory experience   Web:  National Trust/ Brockhampton Estste/ Facilities & Disabled Access
- Parking
Old Apple Store Tearoom; Granary Gift Shop; Toilets; Baby Change facilities; Visitor Centre; Nature Trail & Bird Hide; Pre-booked Guided Tours.  Web:  National Trust/ Brockhampton Estate/ Facilities & Access 
Click here for What’s On   Web:  National Trust/ Brockhampton Estate/ What's on
Orchard Pick Your Own Events
There is nothing more scrumptious than picking your own fruit from an orchard. Damsons are ready in September and October is the time for cider apples, eating and cooking apples. Click on the link below to find out more  Web:   National Trust/ Brockhampton Estate/ The Orchards & Gardens
The Brockhampton Estate was bequeathed to the National Trust in 1946 by Colonel John Lutley. Visitors may wish to combine a visit to the historical old house with a pleasant countryside walk. The Ordnance Survey reference for the Estate is OS Grid Ref: 149:SO682546.
Contact & Further Information
Telephone  +44 (0)1885 488 099
Mail  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Getting There
The Brockhampton Estate is located near the village of Brockhampton near the town of Bromyeard which is on the A44 between Leominster and Worcester. For directions go to:   Web: Brockhampton Estate/ Getting There
Google Maps - Brockhampton Estate  

SEARCH by Location ▼

Error in menu theme!Error in menu type!

Joomla! Debug Console